Skip to content

Humanism

February 26, 2006

I grew up with a thirst for knowledge about how the world works.  I wasn’t forced into religion but I did maintain an open mind and a curiosity for 30+ years of my life. 

The concept of blind faith and believing without question has always bothered me. 

During the past years through my understanding of world events and history, I know view fundamentalist religion as a potentially dangerous and destructive force in the world.  History has and will tell the story of religious alienation and conflict. 

 

My thirst for knowledge led me towards science as truth.  It has never disappointed me.

 

I have recently come across the American Humanist Assocation.   (www.americanhumanist.org)

After living my life as a minority and alienated by religious ignorance and intolerance, it excites me to find a secular, ethical and socially responsible organization that I can relate to.  After reading the humanist manifesto, I felt a greater relief that I may have actually found a place where I belong.  (www.americanhumanist.org/3/HumandItsAspirations.php)

 

"Humanism is a progressive philosophy of life that, without supernaturalism, affirms our ability and responsibility to lead ethical lives of personal fulfillment that aspire to the greater good of humanity."

 

 

 

One Comment leave one →
  1. mystie permalink
    March 3, 2006 4:41 am

    that’s an excellent quote!!
    Thanks for stopping by, and for your comment.
    Have a great one,
    hugsNstuff
    mystie

Leave a Reply

